Mixes, Music

Our First Guest Mix: Dean Feeney of TR One

Posted by pipecock at 1:51 pm
09.24.07 | 18 Comments

Stepping up to the plate for our first guest mix is 1/3 of the up and coming Irish techno/house group TR One, Mr. Dean Feeney. With their first vinyl release just out recently, the TR One guys are doing it up oldschool style with the hardware live jam sessions for their tracks. Their influences are wide ranging as you will see from this 90 minute mix which includes all kinds of things from Diana Ross to DJ Shadow to Breakage to Malik Pittman!

Dean Feeney – The Indefinable Anything

Check out the whole tracklist here:

1. Zo – Detroit District (Chapter 3hree verse 5ive music)
2. Theo Parrish – Major moments of instant insanity (Sound Signature)
3. The Congos – Ark of Covenant (Go feet records)
4. Aza & Eoin – Heritaj (Offshoot)
5. Breakage – Morning Star (Bassbin)
6. Breakage – Untitled Jungle (Bassbin)
7. Royksopp – Sparks – Roni Size instrumental (Wall of Sound)
8. Dj Shadow – Building Steam with a Grain of Salt (Mo Wax)
9. Dj Shadow – Stem / Long Stem (Mo Wax)
10. Moodymann – Technologystolemyvinyle (KDJ)
11. Neil Maguire – Untitled (Ruff edit) (unreleased)
12. Glenn Underground – Mental Fusion (this is a tribute to azmuth) (Difficult Soul)
13. Andres – Deep Inside (Mahogani)
14. Herbie Hancock Quartet – Parade (CBS)
15. Diana Ross – Touch me in the morning (Motown)
16. Untitled
17. Camouflage – You’ve got the power (Tom moulton Special Disco Version) (Roulette Records)
18. Mr. Fingers – Can you feel it (TRAX)
19. Patrice Scott – Atmospheric Emotions (Sistrum)
20. Malik Pittman – Cherry Lee (Reprise mix) (FXHE)
21. Oasis – Oasis 9 (FXHE)
22. Metro Area – Machine vibes (Environ)
23. Laurie Anderson – Oh superman (Warner Bros)
24. Oasis – Oasis 8 (FXHE)

What is it that they put in the water in Ireland? There’s too much good stuff going on there right now! There seems to be a strong independent current running through the dance scene, lots of cats are really pushing their music, despite the hype for mnml or electro-house. Ireland is one of the new hotbeds of quality techno and house music with soul.

You can also check out other mixes by Dean and some from Eddie of TR One here. Dean and Eddie also deejay together and make music as Broken Audio Movement. We should also hopefully be seeing some more underground vinyl releases from these guys in the future!


you wanna talk some nonsense?

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. Subscribe to these comments.